Diamonds are a girl’s best friend?

Note to self: If diamonds are a girl’s best friend, why don’t I have any?

I can’t tell you how many incredible experiences I have while sitting at my favorite Starbucks.  I will go out on a limb – at risk of sounding hocus pocus – and say that I truly believe this little gem of a coffee shop is a portal for divinity.  Too many radical things happen here.

While at my laptop reading the holy scriptures this morning with my famed friend sitting next to me – I voiced a passing observation prompted by the blaring lyrics in the background: A kiss on the hand may be quite continental
But diamonds are a girl’s best friend…

“If diamonds are a girls best friend then why don’t I have any?”

I shared a hearty laugh with my friend and returned to my reading.  Several minutes later he turned to me and said, “you know, I’d like to share something with you…”

I think the problem today is that too many people have a wrong idea about marriage –  they spend a lot of time planning weddings, worrying about their ring, etc.  Most people spend 10-15 thousand on their wedding!  That’s just crazy.  Some years ago I had just finished playing in the Sugar Bowl.  I asked my head coach if I could route my ticket through a different city on the way home.  I went to see my girlfriend.  While I was there we decided we should get married – no wedding – no ring at the time.  The next day we went down to the courthouse trying to be all sneaky about it – we were in love.  Our plan was to get our license – get married – and get on with it.  While in an elevator at the courthouse, we stopped at a floor and we were both surprised when my father got in with us.  He asked what we were doing and we told him our plan.  He said we didn’t have to do it that way.  The next day we invited a few friends over to the house and were married.  We’ve been together 36 years.  Because you see, the most important thing for you to know, is that you need to find a man that really understands what marriage is about.  You want a man that is going to be in this with you no matter what.  The ring – the wedding – none of that really matters.

After sharing his story he proudly showed me his wedding ring which they had later designed –  a simple gold rendering of both of their initials intertwined. It was a really neat moment.

Some time later he addressed my concern for a lack of diamonds one last time.  What he said was so simple – but you know when someone is saying something to you and it strikes a cord?  A timely word.

 

You know – you are a very attractive lady (lady, I love it).  Some people would probably look at you and wonder why you aren’t already taken.  But you know what?  It’s coming…

 

That moment will probably buy me another 6-12 months of patience.  God is gracious.

Leave a Reply

